Hoang Pham In Concert

SKU: 8008. Category: .

The Beautiful Blue Danube





Disc 1

Sonata in C minor, Op 13 “Pathetique”Ludwig van Beethoven

Intermezzo in A Major, Op 118Johannes Brahms

Polonaise in C Major, Op 89Ludwig van Beethoven

Bagatelle in B minor, Op 126 No 4Ludwig van Beethoven

Disc 2

Sonata in C minor, D958Franz Schubert

Concert Arabesques on “The Beautiful Blue Danube”J. Strauss/Schulz-Evler

Waltz in A-Flat, Op 69 No 1Frederic Chopin

Waltz in A-Flat, Op 39 No 15Johannes Brahms

Prelude in G minor – Op 23Sergei Rachmaninoff

Nocturne in E-Flat, Op 9 No 2Frederic Chopin

“Schubert is one of the most often performed composers. He lived a short life, barely thirty years. The appeal of his music are the beautiful melodies, the wild outbursts and those desperate moments of tenderness. You know, Schubert reveals his deepest secrets in pianissimo. Inspired by the classical masters before him such as Mozart and Beethoven, Schubert’s music is straight forward in terms of form. His “musical house”, so to speak, always has the expected floor plan. But within these rooms, there is a haunting personality, a desperate Romantic, a child, a wannabe hero. In this way, Schubert’s music desperately wants to burst the seams of classical structure and in these moments where the walls of his musical house are being pounded to their limits or when the lights are completely off, Schubert is at his most inspired and original… I’m convinced that Schubert’s C minor Sonata was directly influenced by Beethoven’s “Pathetique” Sonata.”

Extract from concert program by Hoang Pham

Additional information

Weight 12 g
Dimensions 15 × 1 × 13 cm


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Beautiful Blue Danube”